MacBook Keyboard: write [box or square] brackets

keybord It’s very useful but not present on my Mac Book Keyboard….

For the [square brackets] the shortcuts is:

[ => Shift + Alt + (

square bracket ShiftALTbracket

] => Shift + Alt + )

square bracket ShiftALTbracket

And don’t forget my previous post about: the backslash and the pipe on MacBook

12 Responses to MacBook Keyboard: write [box or square] brackets

  1. selcuk seber says:

    thaaaaaaank youuu I have been searching for hours on how to type square brackets cause you always need them when creating tiddlers on tiddlywiki .
    and no one was ever describing how to type them .
    thank you
    thank you
    thank you

    dr selcuk seber
    marmara university
    medical oncology

  2. youre a genius!
    thank you so much for this!!!

    thanks again,
    Nancy

  3. mette says:

    On my new macbook shift+alt+”(” gives curlybrackets “{”
    While alt+”(” gives the “[“

  4. mette says:

    On my new macbook shift+alt+”(” gives curlybrackets “{”
    While alt+”(” gives the “[”
    Maybe it’s because I’m using a danish keyboard that my short cuts are different.

  5. Hugo says:

    @Mette I also had that problem with my swedish keyboard.

    The solution is to press caps lock and then use alt+whichever button has a ( or ).[in my case 8 and 9].

  6. luc says:

    just thanks .🙂

  7. Higginz says:

    Swedish keyboard is:

    alt+8 or 9

  8. […] do you type these characters: [] {} = ? How do you copy and paste ? What are Mac Keyboard Shortcuts […]

  9. Joakim says:

    On some European macs you get square brackets by pushing alt+8 or 9. I have a Norwegian macbook, and for those of you who face the same problem, this is the solution.

  10. Andy says:

    But how the f…do you use these brackets when they are part of a shortcut in i.e. Illustrator??? For example ‘Bring object to front’ CMD+Shift+ this fucking bracket ? Oh masters. Please give my soul some peace. Thank you

  11. John says:

    On my danish keyboard I have to go caps lock + Ctrl + alt + 8 or 9 for the square brackets.

Leave a Reply

